Friday, March 10, 2017


Being an extract Communique of National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) 72nd Senate Meeting held between 2nd - 4th March, 2017 at Federal College of Land and Resources Technology (FECOLART) Oforola, Imo State.


The NANS Senate is the legislative arm of NANS which is the Custodian of all Students Union in Nigeria. Senate Arms of NANS has right to promulgate and enact law which is binding on all Nigerian Students.

The 72nd Senate meeting of NANS was well attended by all senators, the four zonal coordinators of NANS, National Executive Council members and respected Stakeholders from all zones.  After extensive deliberation, the Senate had the following as resolutions.

State of NANS

The state of NANS was presented by the Executive President of NANS Comrade Aruna Kadiri of University of Benin who gave report of activities and interventions of NANS under his leadership as Executive President since assumption of office ranging from Nigerian students attack in Turkey, Ambrose Ali University Ekpoma school fee saga, University of Port Harcourt School fees Hike and expulsion of student leaders in the University,  Fuel Pump Price review, Xenophobic attack on Nigerian students and Nigerians living in South African among others.
The president further expresses the need to ensure bye election into other vacant position to enhance the performance of their administration, the office of P.R.O, Vice President External, Treasurer and Director of Sports are the vacant seats needed to be filled.

The NANS Senate calls for immediate reversal of #5,500 damages fee by management of the Federal University of Technology minna, Niger Stateand adequate compensation for the deceased family.
GDeliberations on state of NANS by the Senate assembly after Mr. President’s presentation resolved thus; allegation of mismanagement/misrepresentation and sell out was tabled before the Senate as regard Turkey Visit and Xenophobic attack Struggle. The four slots given by the Turkish Government to NANS was alleged filled by non students, Friends and family of NANS president which contravened the constitution provision of our chartered of demand.

The sudden mute and non execution of threat issued against all South African investments in Nigeria to vacate under 3days by NANS was alleged to be a result of bride collection. In the spirit of total commitment for better NANS in line with anti corruption drive ongoing in the country, the Senate thereby raised investigation Committee of 7 members to be chair by Senator Asubiojo Olujuwon (SUG President) Federal College of Education (Special) Oyo. The committee is expected to report back to the Senate secretariat within 3 weeks.

NANS Senate calls for immediate action to reinstate the unjust expelled Students/Comrades in the following Institutions University of Lagos, Lagos State, Ken Sarowiwa Polytechnic Bori, River State and Federal University Oye Ekiti.

The NANS Senate calls on Federal Government to enact school fees bench mark for all Federal Institutions to guide against school fee hike by head of Institutions.

The NANS Senate calls on all head of institutions who operates Caretaker Committee to replace with Democratically Elected Students’ Union Government within the next 8 weeks else the Senate Special Task Force Committee take on any deviating institution.

State of Nation

The NANS Senate commends the Performance of the Acting President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo thus far and pray to the Almighty to grant President Muhammadu Buhari quick recovery.

The NANS Senate seeks inclusion of Student Union Government in appointment of Head of Tertiary Institutions to build trust and enhance transparency in the leadership enthronement.

Bye Election

The bye election was conducted and the following candidate was successfully elected into office.

Comrade Saad Lawal from Institute of Information and Communication Technology Jigawa State as Director of Sport, election into the remaining offices was suspended till next Senate meeting.

Yussuf Lawal
Chairman, Communiqué Drafting Committee

Salaudeen Olanrewaju U.
NANS Senate Clerk

Salam Oyejide
NANS Senate President

No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *