Friday, August 28, 2020

More woes for FFK as name removed from IgbereTV Awards, Shunned by Journalists in Uyo


Michael Babatunde

The media community seem not to be done with Femi Fani Kayode (FFK) as more knocks come in the erstwhile journalist, lawyer turn politician.

FFK recently made derogatory remarks at  Daily Trust journalists which turned the whole media world's attention to the event.

FFK had his name withdrawn from an award while journalists in Uyo shunned a press conference invite from him.

Management of Igbere TV withdrew the nomination of the former aviation minister, Chief Femi Fani-Kayode for the 2020 edition of the Leadership Excellence Awards.

According to the popular online medium, the decision was informed by Kayode’s unwarranted verbal attack against Mr. Eyo Charles, a journalist with Daily Trust Newspapers.

It had been reported how Kayode verbally attacked the journalist who only sought to hold him accountable for his recent actions by asking if his tours to the South were being sponsored.

Fani-Kayode, who flew into a rage almost immediately described the Daily Trust reporter as “very stupid”, a sad development that has been roundly condemned by all.

He also allegedly threatened to report the journalist to his boss, Daily Trust publisher, before storming out of the hall in anger, and was accused of demanding the journalist’s sack afterwards.

Barely 24 hours after the incident, two more trending videos surfaced on the internet where the former minister was also seen abusing, insulting and denigrating other journalists.

Fani-Kayode was nominated in the “Social Media Personality of the Year” category by Nigerians at the ongoing nominations exercise. The Awards ceremony is billed to hold in December with over 1 million audience nationwide.

Others nominated in the same category alongside Fani-Kayode include Ebuka Obi-Uchendu, Big Brother Naija’s host; Toke Makinwa, Radio personality; and Senators Dino Melaye and Shehu Sani.

But in a statement on Thursday issued by Mr. Emeh James Anyalekwa, executive director of Igbere TV, in Abuja, he said the Awards cannot identify with a ‘press oppressor’ hence the decision to withdraw Kayode’s nomination.

Anyalekwa said the decision was unanimously taken on Thursday(today) during an emergency meeting of the Leadership Excellence Awards Organising Committee.

He argued that the Award promotes outstanding leaders and personalities whose impacts have been felt in Nigeria’s political, social and economic spheres – and that Kayode’s *action makes* him ineligible for the honours.

The annual Leadership Excellence Awards is pioneered by Igbere TV News Agency, a registered online media organisation based in Nigeria with offices spread across Umuahia, Uyo and Abuja.

The 2019 edition which held 28th November at the Sheraton Hotels, Abuja saw distinguished captains of industry, public figures, leaders, and politicians including distinguished Senators and executive Governors cling on to the various Award categories.

Some of the prominent awardees included President Muhammadu Buhari, United States-based Nigerian billionaire medical doctor, Dr. Godwin Maduka; former President Goodluck Jonathan, former House of Reps Speaker, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara; minister Rotimi Amaech, Senator Rochas Okorcha, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu, among others.

In a related development, journalists in Uyo, Akwa-Ibom boycotted a press conference by FFK.

The State chairman Comrade Amos Etuk, in  a well-circulated statement also signed by the Secretary, Comrade Dominic Akpan, asked members not to honour any briefing by Fani-Kayode.

The statement read, "In line with the disposition of the national leadership of our great Union, the State Council has directed that no journalist should attend a media parley with Femi Fani-Kayode or any of his activity at any location in Akwa Ibom State.

"The NUJ is not part of the visit. Please, share this information in your various platforms."

This was also read as displeasure of the Union against the state government over the invite.

No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *