Friday, November 22, 2019

CAF Shortlists Four Nigeria Players For CAF Awards.

Super Eagles quartets of Francis Uzoho, Alex Iwobi, Wilfred Ndidi and Odion Ighalo have been shortlisted for CAF team of the year.
The Confederation of African Football made an official release on Thursday after the conclusion of all senior national teams matches programmed for 2019 which includes the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations that was held in Egypt in May and June.
Injured Super Eagles goalkeeper, Francis Uzoho will be delighted and grateful to see his name on the list despite playing second fiddle to Kaizer Chief goalie Daniel Akpeyi at the Africa Cup of Nations as he will be contesting with nine other goal minders.
Super Eagles couldn't provide any viable defensive player according to the list while former Arsenal star, Alexander Iwobi is listed amongst the artists saddled with creativity alongside Leicester City's enforcer Wilfred Ndidi as they are in the contest with 13 others from several countries of the black continent.
Chinese-based striker, Odion Ighalo is leading in the goal poaching attacking section especially after winning the golden boot of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations as the competition's highest scorer and he will have to make do with 14 other attacking minds.
A total of were nominated with Premier League joint top scorer of Senegalese Sadio Mane, Egyptian and Liverpool talisman Mohamed Salah and Arsenal's and Gabonese skipper Pierre Emerick Aubameyang all in contention while Bafana Bafana star Percy Tau is also shortlisted with Manchester City and Africa Cup of Nations champion with Algeria Riyad Mahrez not left out.
The team of the year will feature effectively at the CAF Awards gala ceremony that is expected to take place early 2020.
CAF 2019 Team of the Year Candidates
Moez Ben Cherifia
Yassine Bonnou
Mohamed El Shenaway
Sylvain, Gbohouo
Rais M'bolhi
Edouard Mendy
Richard Ofori
Andre Onana
Denis Onyango
Francis Uzoho
Youcef Atal
Serge Aurier
Mehdi Benatia
Ahmed El-Mohammadi
Lamine Gassama
Faouzi Ghoulam
Achraf Hakimi
Ahmed Hegazi
Kalidou Koulibaly
Christian Luyindama
Issa Mandi
Joel Matip
Noussair Mazraoui
Yassine Meriah
Youssouf Sabaly
Andre-Frank Anguissa
Ismael Bennacer
Sofiane Feghouli
Idrissa Gueye
Tarek Hamed
Alex Iwobi
Wahbi Khazri
Naby Keita
Franck Kessie
Wilfried Ndidi
Riyad Mahrez
Thomas Partey
Mubarak Wakaso
Victor Wanyama
Hakim Ziyech
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang
Jordan Ayew
Anis Badri
Cedric Bakambu
Youcef Belaili
Baghdad Bounedjah
Odion Ighalo
Sadio Mane
Moussa Marega
Mbaye Niang
Nicolas Pepe
Mohamed Salah
Islam Slimani
Percy Tau
Wilfried Zaha


No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *