Friday, November 16, 2018

Ondo Speaker, Deputy, 7 others approve N14bn budget, dissolve house committees

Nine members of the Ondo State House of Assembly out of the 26 lawmakers in the state have approved the bill for the re-ordered budget of over N14 billion sent to the house by the state governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu.

At the plenary, which was presided over by the embattled speaker of the House, David Oleyelogun, the House also dissolved the standing committees of the House and subsequently appointed three new principal officers.

Oleyelogun said the amendment of the 2018 appropriation law became imperative to allow the state government execute some projects and also implement new policies, which were beneficial to the people of the state.

The Speaker said the House took the decision after considering the recommendations of the House committee on Finance and Appropriation.

At the plenary, the House subsequently approved that over N14 billion re-ordered budget sent to the house by the governor.

Meanwhile, the new principal officers are Suleiman Maito (Majority Leader),

Abayomi Akinruntan (Deputy Majority Leader) and Kazeem Suleiman (Parliamentary Secretary).

It would be recalled that 18 members of the house had last Friday impeached

Oloyelogun and Iroju Ogundeji as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively for allegations bordering on gross misconduct and maladministration.

Speaking at the plenary, the embattled Deputy Speaker, Iroju observed that the

House had not committed any offence by suspending the lawmakers,

saying that the nine lawmakers that sat formed the one/third requirement needed.

Iroju, who represents Odigbo state constituency 1, said the House has remained peaceful since the suspension of the aggrieved members.

No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *