Sunday, November 18, 2018

APC Wins Katsina Bye-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the Alhaji Abubakar Kusada of the All Progressives Congress as winner of the bye-election into the House of Representatives.

The election was conducted in the Kankiya/Kusada/Ingawa Federal constituency in Katsina state on Saturday.
Kusada was the speaker of Katsina state House of Assembly.

The returning officer, Prof Adedayo Hamza, who announced the result on Saturday in Kankiya said Kusada scored 48,518 votes to emerge winner.

Alhaji Abdussamad Yusuf of PDP came second with 20,193 votes, while Nasiru Kankiya of the Peoples Redemption Party scored 1,810 votes as second runner-up.

Abdullahi Umar of the Yes Electorate Solidarity got 221 votes.

According to Hamza, the total number of registered voters in the constituency is 193,904, while the number of accredited voters was 74,242.

The number of valid votes cast was 70,742 and rejected votes 2,331. The total number of votes cast was 73,073.

The INEC National Commissioner, Mr Festus Okoye, advised political parties to intensify voter education and management of polling units.

He commended the political parties, security agencies, media men and other stakeholders for the peaceful conduct of the bye-election.

No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *