Saturday, January 6, 2018

Buhari’s Board appointment: Ondo APC kicks over inclusion of AD members

The recent list of appointees into Federal Boards and agencies released by the Federal government is generating controversy in Ondo State.

Members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state are embittered on the appointment of some members of the Alliance for Democracy (AD) in the state.

Sources confirmed to DAILYPOST that Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu was not happy about the list.

He was said to be displeased on the appointment of some people who worked against his victory in the 2016 election and openly campaigned against the APC.

Already, some members of the party who do not want their names mentioned in the print have described the appointment as lopsided and an error.

They claimed the appointment was given to the wrong people and not those who are loyal to the party.

It was gathered that the list of the appointees released by the presidency last week had been summited to Abuja since 2015. Akeredolu became governor on February 24th, 2017.

Party members are demanding that the Presidency must involve Governor Akeredolu to review the list and give the appointment to the right people.
Some of the appointment beingg protested against are: Senator Ayo Akinyelure – National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA), Akinyeye Akingbesote – Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) and Ropo Sesay – National Film and Video Censors Board (NFVCB) all from Idanre local government.

The APC is protesting against the trio who were accused of working against the APC in the 2016 election.

Besides, the party in Idanre local government has petitioned President Muhammadu Buhari and Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu to immediately remove the name of the trio.

The Petition which was signed by the Youth Leader of the party in Idanre, Akinbobola Smart reads “Further to the recent newspaper announcement of the federal board lists where Senator Ayo Patrick Akinyelure, was made Board Chairman and Hon. Akin Akingbesote and Mrs Lola Sessey from Idanre Local Government Area of Ondo State was listed as board members, we members of Idanre APC Youths, which comprises of All APC Youths across the 10 wards in Idanre Local Government Area of Ondo State, hereby totally reject them as Board Chairman and members for the following reasons:

“Senator Ayo Patrick Akinyelure, and Mrs Lola Sessey have persistently engaged in anti-party activities. In some instances, they even went as far as conniving with the leadership of Alliance For Democracy (AD) in the last Ondo State Gubernatorial Election
“As a testimony to Hon. Akin Akingbesote’s deep seated animosity towards the APC in Ondo State, it is on record that he officially defected to AD, not only that, he financed and worked for the Alliance For Democracy during the last Ondo State gubernatorial election
“In addition to the above reasons, Senator Ayo Patrick Akinyelure, Hon. Akin Akingbesote and Mrs Lola Sessey did not contribute any form of financial or moral support to the APC in Ondo State during the last Gubernatorial election only for them to start stealing the show when Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu won the Gubernatorial election
“It is also on record that the aforementioned once boasted in the public, during the last gubernatorial election that they had the backing and claimed to be working for AD on the instruction of Southwest APC Chairman, Pa Pius Olu Akinyelure. Even, if AD failed, Pa Pius will lobby federal appointments for us, they boasted
“In view of the above unruly behaviour and anti -party activities by Senator Ayo Patrick Akinyelure, Hon. Akin Akingbesote and Mrs Lola Sessey, we are convinced they are not fit to adequately represent the party, Idanre Local Government and Ondo State as board Chairman and members
“We hereby call on Ondo State Governor Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu to liaise with President Buhari, to substitute the aforementioned names with APC loyal party members from Idanre “.

Also, some party members are protesting the appointment of Hon. Folajimi Olaseinde(Yeye Mofin). They accused Olaseinde of decamping to the AD and working against APC in the 2016 election.

Although, Olaseinde returned to the APC last week members were of the view that there are still loyal members who deserved the appointment more than her.

The members also urged President Buhari and Akeredolu to review the appointment of those who are presently holding positions at the state level, whose names were also released in the Federal government appointees.

Benson Enikuomehin, who is presently the Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the governor on Oil and gas was appointed into the board of Federal College of Agriculture, Akure while the Special Adviser to the governor on Health matters, Dr Jibayo Adeyeye was also appointed into the board of Chad River Basin Development Authority.

Source: Daily Post

No comments:

Post a Comment






Email *

Message *